NZL v MAS (Pool D)

Hero Hockey Junior World Cup Men 2013

Match Date Time Pool/Class Venue
04 2013-12-06 16:00 Pool D 1
Previous 1 year ago Next
New Zealand 2 - 3 (1 - 1)


New Zealand vs Malaysia - Men's Hero Hockey Junior World Cup India [06/12/2013]

The teams traded penalty-corners in the opening minute of play and Malaysia were successful on their second attempt, after a triple fake found  Muhammad Bin Saabah alone in front of goal, leaving no chance to Richard Joyce in the Kiwis’ goal. New Zealand reacted immediately and forced a series of penalty-corners at the other end, scoring on their forth attempt by Kane Russell to level the score.

The Asian Champions were the more dangerous in the opening period, maintaining New Zealand on the back foot and often threatening Richard Joyce, but they could not capitalize on their domination. New Zealand were only dangerous on a lone penalty-corner but managed to weather the storm and reach the break on par.

Malaysia took control of the proceedings early in second period by Muhammad Bin Baharom and could have scored a few more goals in the following minutes but the Kiwis once again held tight to keep their deficit to a minimum. They forced a penalty-corner on one of their rare incursions in Malaysian territory and Kane Russell dutifully converted it to tie the score once again.

Russell had another attempt soon after but Hafizuddin Othman managed a spectacular high dive to protect the Malaysian goal. With support from the local crowd, Malaysia surged forward in the final ten minutes and earned a penalty-corner on a video-referral. It had to be retaken several times but Firhan Ashari finally managed to push it in goal after Richard Joyce made the initial save but the defense failed to clear the ball.

Tempers flared up in the final minutes of the match, but Malaysia hanged up to their narrow lead to open their 2013 Hero Hockey Junior World Cup campaign with a deserved win.



Goal Detail

Team Minute Shirt # Player Action Score
MAS 6 15 SAABAH Shahril PC 0 - 1
NZL 11 14 RUSSELL Kane PC 1 - 1
MAS 37 11 BAHAROM Rashid FG 1 - 2
NZL 47 14 RUSSELL Kane PC 2 - 2
MAS 63 10 ASHARI Firhan PC 2 - 3

Card Detail

Team Minute Shirt # Player Type Umpire
MAS 67 19 HASSAN Azri G PRASAD Raghu
NZL 67 11 PANCHIA Jared Y (10') ESTEBANEZ Diego

Match Officials

Role Official
Umpire ESTEBANEZ Diego (ESP)
Umpire PRASAD Raghu (IND)
Reserve Umpire GOMEZ Fernando (ARG)
Video Umpire BALE Bruce (ENG)
Judge DE MATTOS Thiago (BRA)
Judge SHELAR Rajendra (IND)
Technical Officer McKAY Iain (SCO)
Tournament Director COLLIER David (ENG)
GER v BEL (Pool A) ESP v FRA (Pool B)
Stay in touch
like us on...
follow us on...
sign up to...
pic us on...